11 days to go: The second trophy’s 11 outings

The 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ is drawing ever nearer – with just 11 days to go! Between now and the start of the World Cup, we will take a closer look at a different statistic from the history of the tournament each day.

11 – When the Jules Rimet Trophy was handed over to Brazil at the 1970 FIFA World Cup™ to mark their third triumph in the competition, FIFA commissioned a new Trophy for the tenth World Cup finals in 1974.

Measuring 36.8cm tall, the Trophy has been held aloft 11 times since then. Reigning champions Germany have got their hands on the golden statuette more than any other team during this time, hoisting it three times in 1974, 1990 and 2014. Brazil (1994, 2002), Italy (1982, 2006) and Argentina (1978, 1986) have all won it twice, while France (1998) and Spain (2010) have each been presented with the Trophy once.

Did you know?
The FIFA World Cup Trophy remains in FIFA’s possession at all time and cannot be won outright by a country. The current Trophy is crafted from solid 18-carat gold and weighs exactly 6.175kg. The base contains two layers of semi-precious malachite, while the underside is engraved with the year and name of each FIFA World Cup™ winner since 1974.

Go to source
For More News!!!
Copyright or Author:
Copyright or Author:
Source Link: http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/11-days-to-go-the-second-trophy

www.big4sport.com #news #info #magazine #sport #NBA #NFL #NHL #MLB #SOCCER #FOOTBALL #WORLDCUP #celebrity